Home

My name is Zoe Ashton, and I am an English Language and Literature graduate from The University of Nottingham. Writing, in a wide range of settings, has been a passion of mine since I was a child, and I decided to set up this blog to showcase work that I have written, and continue to write, for various publications, and to publish some original articles and creative writing.

My first regular experience of being in print was aged nine, when I approached my local paper, ‘The Newark Advertiser’, to review children’s books. I reviewed books for nearly three years, something which I thoroughly enjoyed. A few years later, aged fifteen, after completing work experience at a graphic designers, one of their magazine clients, ‘Life Magazines’ asked me to become teenage columnist. I wrote a regular monthly column for over a year and a half, until I left to concentrate on a new project with my parents.

For over two years, I ran local community magazine ‘In Touch’ in my hometown of Balderton with my parents. Our coverage allowed us to reach far and wide – even as far as America, and I gained valuable experience as features editor, interviewer, proof-reader and regular columnist.

In my first few months at university, I became a writer for ‘The National Student’ (TNS), where I wroteon issues affecting students, as well as more light-hearted pieces on the weird and wonderful things in our world. I also wrote for arts and culture magazine in Nottingham, Left Lion, where I was part of the community team. And moreover, I enjoyed collaborating on Impact, the award-winning student magazine at Nottingham, mostly under the arts umbrella, but also in news.

As well as journalism, freelance copy-writing is also something I’ve undertaken since my first year and university. I have been lucky enough to work with some fantastic brands, on copy from blog posts to articles to shorter promotional material, on subjects varying from tutoring, to cloud computing, to cycling to fashion.

Writing is my absolute passion – though my blog covers some of my other passions such as craft and food, I can think of nothing more perfect than the opportunity to write about them. If you’re interested in working with my as a freelance writer, please drop me a line at zoe.ashton22@hotmail.co.uk and I will be in touch ASAP.

zoe.ashton22@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

