Home

IMG_2855It had been long overdue since I blogged about an exhibition I’ve seen, so I decided to pay a little visit to the National Design Museum, which happens to be the Hub, conveniently located about half an hour away from me. The exhibition was by called ‘The Curious World of Becky Adams’, and curious it was as I looked through Becky’s work, who creates beautiful pieces which can only be described as a glorious marriage between textile and paper.

I have long since been fascinated with paper ephemera and using this in relationship to materials which are designed to be much more long-standing, such as a fabric and textiles. Becky captured this wonderfully in her exhibition, which clever and gorgeous pieces, as well as some genuinely witty moments, often rare in the pretension of the art world today.

Text is something I feel works effortlessly with vintage visuals and free machinery – something which I have been having a little dabble in myself, so hopefully there will be some pictures up of my (feeble in comparison) attempts! But in the meanwhile, here are some of my absolute favourite pieces from Becky’s gorgeous exhibition…

IMG_2851

I love the play on the expression ‘a stitch in time’ here with the delicately sewn clock face

Pens are some of my absolute favourite imagery, and this embroidered one caught my attention in this concertina book.

Pens are some of my absolute favourite imagery, and this embroidered one caught my attention in this concertina book.

IMG_2839

A gorgeous caravan coupled with another concertina book.

IMG_2840

A close up of the caravan imagery – love the fabric play.

IMG_2863

One of the witty pieces of the show – ‘book jacket’ – quite literally a jacket made from book jackets. Brilliant.

Very pretty little box

Very pretty little box

Bureau with sewn letter.

Bureau with sewn letter.

Close up of the sewn letter.

Close up of the sewn letter.

Love the phone on this one.

Love the phone on this one.

A splash of pink.

A splash of pink.

If you’re inspired to go and take a look, the show runs until 25th August 2013 at The National Centre for Craft and Design (The Hub) in Sleaford, Lincolnshire. You won’t be disappointed!

All photos picture pieces copyright of Becky Adams. Apologies for any bizarre angles in photos: the lighting in the exhibition made it difficult to photograph pieces without casting huge shadows of myself!

Leave a Reply

