Home

ImageFor my birthday, my parents bought me a little sewing machine. I’m not a natural born sewer, unlike my fabulous Mum who can literally make anything out of fabric, and I am not exaggerating when I say that after 5 minutes of usage (which was literally just sewing, as my lovely Mum had already threaded it) I had knotted it up beyond all possible repair without unscrewing the whole machine, (which again, my Mum kindly did). But my interest in a sewing machine wasn’t primarily learning to sew fabric, but free machinery on paper.

The more free machining I had seen, the more I absolutely love the effect – I had to refrain from describing it as ‘free’ there, which would have been somewhat tautological. But the mixing of fabric and paper is something that fascinates me, and my first free machined item can be seen above – a felt, brown paper and thread card for my Auntie’s birthday.

I’ve already decided I’m going to make all my Christmas cards and I’m really excited to get stuck in customising some Moleskine cahiers – which happens to be my favourite thing already to do, and you can see some of my creations at my etsy shop: http://www.lifeslittlebeauties.etsy.com. No mixed media pieces as of yet, but I plan to get going very soon!

Just a quick post to keep you updated on my latest craft, but hopefully I’ll have lots more images to show soon!

Leave a Reply

