Home

Quotes are my favourite – I think that the fact an idea, concept or generally something quite witty can be summed up in a sentence or two is fantastic, and I actively go and search them out. I have a magnet my Mum bought me with Wilde’s famous quote, ‘We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars’ on, and a little plaque with ‘shoot for the moon. Even if you miss you’ll land among the stars’. Good job the author’s unknown because, even as an English student, it troubles me how scientifically incorrect that statement is. But anyway…

By far the best one I’ve ever come across is by John Green, author of Fault in Our Stars.

“Maybe our favorite quotations say more about us than about the stories and people we’re quoting.”

I couldn’t possibly agree more. On his Twitter bio, you’ll also find ‘books are like tweets but longer’. What a novel idea, if you’ll excuse the terrible pun.

Incidentally, the novel I mentioned, ‘Fault in Our Stars’, is on my very long shortlist of books to read next, which keep getting pushed to the bottom of the pile for my course books. After coming across this quote, I’m determined that his book, already patiently queued on my shelves, should be next.

Leave a Reply

