Home

ImageBefore even getting to the end of Kirstie’s Vintage Christmas (with Kirstie Allsopp, find it on 4oD), I’d scrabbled around finding my tissue and crepe paper and set about making Christmas decorations. I do love her programmes – she is delightfully twee and I want her job more than I wanted to be a Blue Peter presenter ten years ago. The things I would do…

Anyway, on the show, Kirstie added these to a rather extravagant head-piece, but I decided to add Christmas ribbon and hang them in our living room. They look absolutely fantastic (but do remind me a bit of those things you wash yourself in the shower with) hung on the partition in our front room, and really add something to the shop-bought star decorations.

SO SIMPLE TO DO. Here’s the gist:

1. Concertina  5 – 8 sheets of crepe/tissue paper (size of sheets depends on how big you want your pom pom ruffle, and I’d suggest 5 for crepe and more for tissue due to the thickness)

2. Wrap some wire around the middle of the concertina

3. Round the ends with scissors

4. Fluff the layers out until an attractive ruffle forms

5. Cut a length of ribbon and attach through the paper using wire

Image

It really is that easy – I’d definitely recommend putting them up for Christmas, or any celebration at that! Brightens up a room in no time.

2 thoughts on “Pom Pom Christmas Decs

  1. Pingback: Weekend Links #12 | quiteirregular

Leave a Reply

