Home

Image

Now I know it’s a bit late, but I thought I’d write a quick blog about a small portion of the books I got for Christmas. My parents know me oh-so-well and I always go into January with a bulging bookcase. Here are a small selection of the ones I really can’t wait to read. And come on, I’m an English student in my final year, you didn’t actually expect me to have read these books for pleasure did you?!

Image

Barnes is one of my favourite writers, and this is just such sweet looking book I can’t wait to have a read. I’ve read A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters and Talking it Over , both of which I thought were very innovative, so I can’t wait to get my teeth into this one!

Image

Now this one is bloody gorgeous. Stationery is my ABSOLUTE WEAKNESS, so when I received this I couldn’t wait to have a flick. All the designers featured in this are stunning, so I just turned to one random page to demonstrate how lovely the ideas are – it just so happened to be one of my favourite techniques, letterpress.

Image

Image

The Fault in Our Stars is a book I’ve been wanting to get my hands on for a while, ever since my friend put a picture of her reading it on holiday on Instagram. Cue most people’s holiday envy, and my primary book envy (although a tan wouldn’t go a miss right now!) I follow John Green on Twitter and always find he has something interesting to say, so I’m looking forward to reading this!

Image

Rushdie is another author I discovered on my course, and after reading and writing an essay on Shame, I fell in love with his style. Let’s see if this one lives up to expectations.

Image

Ian McEwan is another favourite, although he might not be when I’ve finished writing my dissertation on him in May. Anyway, this seems a little different to his other books when I read the blurb – in fact, my forgetful Dad mistook it for one of his crime books he got for Christmas, so a diversion from his normal genre perhaps, but one I’m eager to read.

Image

Finally, Generation X. Now I don’t know an awful lot about this book, apart from it frequently makes ‘insert number here’ books you need to read before you die lists. I don’t always think they are particularly credible, but I decided to take a punt anyway, and I just love the cover: I think the fact the barcode is on the front is great.

Did you receive any books you’re eager to get stuck in to?

When I get to 100 followers (I’m only 3 off!) I’m going to be having a little giveaway, so keep your eyes peeled!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Books: 6 eager reads

  1. Ooooh! I LOVE Rushdie. Midnight’s Children is brillaint.

    …not a big McEwan fan though. On Chesil Beach annoyed me to ridiculous levels.

    great book haul here though! 🙂

  2. Pingback: First Eager Read – Sweet Tooth | zoë ashton

Leave a Reply

