Home

Writing is such a personal thing, and I think in a lot of ways, the things we choose to write in reveal a lot about us. I thought I’d share a couple of my writing books with you.

Firstly, this is my newest book in that this is the notebook I use to for my creative writing at uni.

20140217-211143.jpg

The notebook itself is Disaster Designs, and absolutely gorgeous: a gift from my Mum’s lovely best friend. It has been shelved for a long time simply because I hadn’t felt I could put anything beautiful enough inside, but I have decided this year that I should just enjoy my stationery and throw caution to the wind.

20140217-211336.jpg

I knew I’d be getting pieces of paper in my seminars, and so for a while I unmed and arred about using an A5 pad, rather than my usual academic choice of a ringbinder and plastic wallets, but eventually I decided to make use of some of those pretty paper clips and washi tape I’ve been hoarding and embrace the messiness – after all, it comes with a lace tie making it ideal! In fact, I love it. I love that every time I unhook a loose sheet, I feel like I’m discovering it for the first time, rather than flicking through a boring file. For me, that works for some modules, but for one as creative as, well, creative writing, I needed something a little more visceral.

20140217-211658.jpg

I absolutely love Moleskines. I love that people still can’t really agree on how to say the name, and I love in a way that they offer endless creativity for being so plain, and quite literally a blank canvas. They feel fantastic to hold and my A5 black lined one is my favourite. I use this one to keep track of paid writing work, alongside any blog ideas that pop into my head that I don’t quite have enough time to write right now.

20140217-225539.jpg

20140217-225604.jpg

Finally, my Keel’s Simple Diary. For anyone who isn’t familiar with these diaries, they aim to take the time out of diary entries for busy people. I kept a diary from the age of 7, less so in sixth form, and uni really put an end to it altogether, so when I saw this at an art exhibition I thought it was a perfect idea. Even this unfortunately doesn’t get the love it deserves, but the prompts bring a smile to my face when I do get round to writing an entry.

20140217-225834.jpg

20140217-230138.jpg

What do you write in?

2 thoughts on “Writing vessels

  1. I’m a Moleskin gal. I tried other journals but they don’t feel right. Does that make any sense? Honestly I found I couldn’t write anything worth keeping in those ‘other’ journals 🙂
    For years I bought only the black covered, lined ones now I buy them in every colour! Right now I am coveting the white covered Moleskin journals. I must look out for the Keel’s diary – love it. Thanks for the beautiful pics.

    • I must admit there is a special place in my heart for Moleskines – so functional! I have a few lined up waiting to be filled.

      Thanks for your kind comments, and do let me know if you get your hands on a Keel’s diary! Mine is a volume two 🙂

Leave a Reply

