Home

You may or may not be beginning to see that I’m slightly obsessed with my soup maker at the moment, and as me and my friend Vicki had a merry encounter where we both declared our love for soup, I decided to invite her over to sample the wonder that is a soup machine. We made a medley vegetable soup with bit and bobs we had around, but I want to tell you that this soup, is souper (I’m really sorry) versatile. I find that when you’re mainly cooking for one, it can be easy to cook in bulk and always eat the same things. But with a few tweaks, you can add the interest back!

One
Firstly, we started out with two small sweet potatoes, peeled, one courgette, two garlic cloves, one red pepper, some herbs and a sprinkle of paprika and chilli powder.

This made a rather delicious soup – cue posing for my Instagram (including the yummy summer fruits dessert I made too)

20140228-162411.jpg

But I had a portion leftover and wanted to mix things up…

Two

The next day I came to have my second portion but was feeling super hungry so wanted to bulk it out. So I added some low fat cheese and a bit of chipotle sauce which gave it a lovely Mexican twist. It went melty and delish.

20140228-162700.jpg

20140228-162723.jpg

Three

Unfortunately by this point, I’d run out of portions. But I definitely think to bulk this meal out for a dinner time mid-week meal all you’d need to add would be some roasted butternut squash or sweet potato cubes, and some red kidney beans. Chunky, spicy and all-over filling! One soup, three ways.

2 thoughts on “One soup, three ways

  1. That looks wonderful! I just made Soupe à l’oignon, and am looking for other soup ideas to combat the unseasonably cold weather. I suppose it’s the winter equivalent of making lemonade. 🙂

Leave a Reply

