Home

Image

I first saw the idea of a speed reading site shared on Facebook. Spritz, the app in question, basically positions words at the ‘optimum’ position on the screen so that you can read them easily, and promises speeds of up to 1000 words per minute. Spritz claims that it isn’t the actual processing of information that takes the time, but instead the movement of eyes and actual reading.

Spritz hopes to work with eBook producers, technology developers and content providers to name a few, to bring this technology to mainstream culture – it seems appealing, particularly to an English student, to be able to read 600 words a minute as I can do quite easily on their website, using their software sample. But does it lose something?

For me, yes. I have resisted buying a Kindle my entire degree, because for me it just isn’t a book The whole experience is what makes a novel special for me: flicking through a book to see how long a chapter is; holding it in my hands; admiring the clever imagery on the front. I can see that appeal for reading things that I need to, but really don’t have the time or desire to, but as for ‘speed reading through Harry Potter’ as many articles on the app suggest will be possible in just an hour at 1000 wpm, I’m not sure it’s for me. Plus, anyone who has given Spritz a go will know that it’s bloody tiring – look away for a couple of seconds and you’ve missed whole sentences. Goodbye procrastination, I suppose.

However, some of the other benefits cited, such as quickly reading emails and texts (although how long are the texts Spritz developers receive?!) I think are fairly valid. Have a go yourself here.What do you think to Spritz’s idea?

2 thoughts on “Could reading as we know it be a thing of the past?

  1. Im not convinced. I like the idea and the possibilities, but it feels like it’s taking something away from me.

    I love real books. I also love my kindle. I buy both (I know, there’s something a little backwards about that).

    I havent used my kindle for my degree though.. it’s far easy to flick through and mark pages by hand.

    I like being a lazy reader. I mean, if I want to I can read fast. But sometimes I just like to dawdle on a page. 🙂

  2. This is one of those things that I think sounds really interesting but I would probably never use myself. I have a kindle for saving space, travelling, cheaper books, etc. but even then, I still much prefer reading a proper book the old fashioned way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

