Home

 

Here’s the second part of my Art14 blog posts – if you missed the first one you can catch up here. This time, I’ll focus on line – I saw some really experimental pieces which utilised line in ways I’d never seen before, so I hope you enjoy these as much as I did.

ImageImage

 

Unfortunately these were incredibly difficult to capture on camera, but this piece entitled ‘Cow’ by Angela Palmer was based on CT scans of the animal and really did look 3D. I think it is one fantastic way to illustrate that science and art do not have to sit on opposite sides of the universe, but instead can complement each other in intriguing ways.

 

 

 

 

 

Image

Image

 

I just thought this piece was gorgeously playful – I love that there isn’t much colour, and that the lines aren’t straight.

Image

 

 

Image

 

Despite reminding me of endless frustrations as a child with my puzzle book, I am kind of blown over by the scope of this piece and the patience it must have taken to create. And it looks really create both up close and from a distance.

 

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Damn you glass frames obstructing my photography! These portraits I thought were just great. I had a go at doing one in my little sketchbook, and they are most definitely harder than they look.

 

Image

 

Image

Anyone who follows my blog even semi-regularly will know that I am possibly the biggest mixed media fan in the world. I thought the idea of drawing with wool was so interesting, and I love the finished effect here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image

Again, a little bit of a reference to my childhood, but who remembers those tacky felt pictures you used to buy and colour in between the lines safe in the knowledge that you couldn’t go outside of them? Yes? Well this raised image reminded me of those!

 

Image

 

Cute pensive arty pose.

 

 

 

Image

Image

Again, the idea of this dense network of thread fascinated me! So gorgeous to see the little houses poking through!

 

Did you go to Art14? Which were your favourite pieces?

Leave a Reply

