Home

 

 

For me, colour can work in really interesting ways, and at Art14, there were some really striking pieces. I’ve had to leave some lovely works out simply because my photographs didn’t turn out well, or in the case of popular pieces, I couldn’t clear the area enough to even try and get a good photo. But in part 3 of my Art14 set, here are my favourite colour inspired pieces.

 

Image

Image

 

This flower was actually part of a set, but I decided to home in on just one. I love the playfulness of the unnaturalistic background, with the 3D tulip which literally pops out at you. And LOOK AT THOSE COLOURS!

 

 

Image

 

The thing I found somewhat unnerving about this image was that as I photographed it, the boy seemed to look even more real. I love the fact that his dull attire is surrounded by a wealth of colourful books – I quite fancy a sleep there myself.

 

Image

Image

 

I bought a box frame from Ikea fairly recently with a view to doing a piece like this, and I am well and truly inspired after seeing this set. So simple, but so effective.

 

Image

Image

 

These books, wow. I looked at them for a long time and still managed to keep seeing new bits and bobs I missed the first time round. By Daniel Escobar, this ‘series from The World’ is cut from travel guides.

 

 

 

 

 

Image

 

This is so grotesque it’s beautiful in my eyes, and the yellow is just working away in the background. Reminds me a bit of Kate Moss, although I’m not sure how flattered she’d be to hear that!

 

 

Image

Image

 

I toyed with putting these in my previous line blog post, but then decided that it really was the bits of colour that added interest – I love the highlighting of the yellow and just how simple Natasha Law’s lines are.

 

 

 

 

 

Image

Image

Finally, this gallery just blew my mind. This was in the new gallery section of the exhibition, which highlighted galleries which hadn’t been around a long time, and because of this, they all had a very limited amount of space. Most of the other galleries were fairly conventionally hung, with a lot of space between images, but I was just so attracted to this wonderful mishap of colour by Bayrol Jiminez – and they weren’t framed, so no glare – RESULT!

2 thoughts on “Art14 – Colour

Leave a Reply

