Home

After a week (or so 😉 ) off the band wagon, this week I hit it hard. I always try to cook new recipes when I’ve been off it for a while and find that helps me no end to get back on the straight and narrow. That and I got a gorgeous hamper off my boyfriend along with 2 new recipe books I’ve wanted for ages!

20140623-180802.jpg

This crustless quiche was delicious – in fact so delicious I’ve dedicated a whole blog post to it. I added sausage as we had some leftovers in the fridge.

20140623-180911.jpg

Now these chorizo and lean pork meatballs were something special. Out of the Skinny weeks and weekend feasts book, I felt they deserved white pasta. I like the book because it promotes moderation – chorizo obviously isn’t ‘healthy’ but adding a little bit gives a lot of flavour and that’s what I always try to keep in mind. It’s not about deprivation.

20140625-103236.jpg

This was one of those meals where the idea was good but it needs a little bit of tweaking. I adapted a BBC Good Food recipe to be WW friendly – their cashew, chilli and lime crusted cod. Only problem was I cooked the fish too long so it went quite tough, but other than that, I loved the idea of the crust! Served with brown rice and garlic mushrooms on top (made with light Philedelphia).

20140625-103549.jpg

20140625-103634.jpg

Now this, on the other hand, was amazing! I had this as a breakfast to mix up my normal routine. These sweet potato hashes with bacon are a Karina Liberation recipe (and if you haven’t discovered her yet, her WW friendly recipes are amazing). Next time I think I’d top it with an egg for extra filling qualities!

The obligatory soup – I made bacon, leek and potato this week seasoned with cajun. Really very delicious!

20140625-103833.jpg

20140630-093215.jpg

Used one of my quest bars to make Quest cookies with Devon dream and a tiny bit of decadent salted caramel out of my hamper!

20140630-093403.jpg

Marinated some chicken with a slightly tweaked WW marinade using honey, tomato purée, squeeze of BBQ, smoked paprika and Worcestershire sauce. It’s so lovely to whack out the BBQ and here’s another reason why…

20140630-093610.jpg

BBQed bananas with mini marshmallows and a tiny bit of salted caramel sauce, with a scoop of icecream for just 3pp.

Leave a Reply

