Home

ID-10060271(1)

Sometimes I consider myself to be in between a couple of stances when I write blog posts like these, but this is not one of those times. Today, I wanted to scribble down a few thoughts on whether it’s best to buy books all the time and save them for when you have the time to read them, subsequently acquiring a rather stocked bookcase, or whether it’s preferable to go into a bookstore or browse online/on an eReader when you’re ready to read.

Now for those of you who have seen my growing bookcase collection, you’ll know that I’m definitely the former. My shelves are bursting with books I haven’t yet read, and honestly, there are very few on there that I actually have read, because I am a very infrequent re-reader. But in some ways, having bookshelves full of books I know I want to read is in some odd way a little debilitating, because it can sometimes feel a little overwhelming. There’s not a few books there that I’ll like, but I literally want to read them all as at one point or another, I’ve bought them or been given them.

Now for those who fall into the other camp, those who finish one book and only have a couple in hand,  if any, and rush to order or buy another one when they’re ready, I wonder if they feel a little more liberation than I do. I’d be really interested to hear if any of you fall into either of these categories, or if it’s somewhere in the middle, and if so, how do you feel about your book-hoarding habits or restraining reader tendencies?

3 thoughts on “Stacked shelves or single purchases: how do you buy your books?

  1. somewhere in the middle I think. I have three books on my shelf to read but I have a list as long as an arm of books I want to order online. Then (an ongoing scenario) a friend or two will drop off their latest ‘favourite reads’ and I am left (my current position) with a stack of six books on my bedside table. So no sense of liberation only more pressure to read faster 😀

  2. I have many books on my shelves waiting to be read,but even so,I can’t help but buy even more books,which I end up reading!

    So I guess a belong to both categories!

Leave a Reply

