Home

I love art journalling. That isn’t to say I get to do it as often as I like, but when I do, I’m a happy bunny. I wanted to create a small space where I could collate a few of my favourite pieces and things I reach for often when I am journalling, so after a quick rummage, I came across this rather unloved briefcase and decided that it should become home to my new art journal kit. It’s still a bit of a working progress, but here’s what I’ve done so far…

20140709-192226.jpg

20140709-192032.jpg
Here I was just blocking out a few ideas of things I definitely wanted to include 🙂
20140709-192047.jpg
As you can see, I added in old silk painting frames which my Dad made to break up the case. These were originally plain wood, but I wanted something a little quirkier, so after I used a glue gun to glue them in, I customised them. I also  used old Sizzix machine die to collate smaller items (far right) such as buttons and washi tape (wrapped around a small label so I can have a wider variety).
20140709-192113.jpg
I used a tatty old children’s book I picked up from a carboot and an old map applied to the wood with a mixture of PVA and water.
20140709-192140.jpg

20140709-192205.jpg

Here are all my little twiddly bits in all their glory!

20140709-192245.jpg
I wonder how long the organisation will last for!
20140709-192306.jpg
I had to have a closeup of these because they are just the most gorgeous paperclips ever!
20140709-192327.jpg

It’s a working progress because my next step is to staple gun elastic from each piece of wood so my items won’t fall out when I actually carry it like a suitcase. I love the idea of going somewhere for the day and setting up camp with my kit, so more than just somewhere to store my bits and bobs, I really want it to be a functioning case!

How do you store your art journalling bits and bobs?

Leave a Reply

