Home

It’s not very often I blog about a film having not read an accompanying book. But The Imitation Game really made me want to write something. As I’ve said before, I think it’s really difficult to stage or film the war, even when it’s the stories we’ve tragically heard before. But the code breakers’ of World War Two was one story I hadn’t heard much of. I visited The Science Museum some time ago, and there was a small exhibition on Alan Turing. I remember thinking at the time that it was something I ought to find out more about, and when it came out at the cinema I couldn’t resist.

The main thing I wanted to discuss was the framing technique. The story amazed me and it blew my mind that we as a country owe so much to one man’s genius and one team’s relentless determination. But for the sake of this conversation, I just want to talk about the small addition at the beginning and the end.

As The Enigma was kept a secret, I thought it was a fantastic choice to use a framing device that saw Alan tell a police officer his story in the 1950s, as by vey virtue of the fact his involvement was so classified, this would be plausible. And I found it so engaging to see Alan tell the story himself.

It’s not often I rave quite so highly about a film – and I’ll tell you what happens even more rarely. I left popcorn. With a vacuum cleaner for a boyfriend and a pretty healthy appetite myself that’s unheard of. But 1/3 of our popcorn remained at the end of the film. We were just that transfixed.

Leave a Reply

