Home

What I love about books, is that is doesn’t matter when you discover them. We’re still reading ‘classics’ from hundreds of years ago, and though the subject matter might date, the fact they’re a good, well-written story will not. I can’t quite remember how I came to buy one of Julia Heaberlin’s books off Amazon, but I think after some flicking I stumbled upon her second novel ‘Lie Still’. I ordered it; I read it; I loved it.

Recently, I’ve really got into thrillers. I’m not sure if it’s because, with less time to read, I want something fast-paced and exhilarating, or if my taste has just changed now I’m not on a course that dictates to a certain degree what I do read. Julia Heaberlin falls into that genre.

After reading ‘Lie Still’, I quickly ordered her first book, ‘Playing Dead’ and devoured it just as quickly. I think ‘Lie Still’ is perhaps the more accomplished and polished of the pair, probably as it’s her second novel, but both are fantastic stories and Heaberlin has a great eye for detail.

While writing this, I logged on to her website and was quite excited to see that in July, she’ll be bringing out a third book. And I’ll certainly be buying.

Have you discovered any great authors recently?

Leave a Reply

