Home

I’ve seen baked oats on Instagram for a while now and thought it was a lovely change to traditional porridge. If you’ve not been made familiar with them, they are basically porridge, baked with milk and an egg and with lots of lovely additions. The result is a cross between flapjack and porridge to my mind.

I took a basic recipe and tweaked it to fit what I had in (because let’s face it, who can go out and spend a tenner on ingredients every time they want to try a new recipe).

Here is my recipe – the original recipe used cups so that’s what I used – they’re available very cheaply off Amazon or eBay if you don’t have a set yet, and they open up loads of American recipes.

20150308-110025.jpg

ingredients
2 cups of quick cooking oats (I found that to be about 6 porridge sachets)
1 tsp of baking powder
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cups of milk (I used semi-skimmed)
2 tsp melted butter
1 large egg
Strawberry jam

method

Combine the dry top 3 ingredients in a bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg and add the milk and melted butter. I gave my butter a 20 second blast in the microwave.

Combine wet and dry ingredients

Add to an oven proof glass tray – I used a fairly large one as you get more lovely browned bits (that’s a technical term). Add dollops of jam to your pleasing.

Bake for 20 minutes at 190 degrees C

enjoy!

Me and my boyfriend enjoyed this for a Sunday morning brekkie, but the recipe said you can keep it and reheat, which I will definitely be doing in the future. Nuts work really well, as do raisins but were both things I didn’t have in.

Let me know what you think! Do you have any baked oats recipes you love?

Leave a Reply

